All I’ve Ever Needed

Tonight, I got to thinking about the joys of music. The way it can bring people together, mend a broken heart, heal a broken soul. I’ve always tried to imagine the feeling an artist gets when hearing a crowd singalong to their songs, or someone telling them how their song inspired them. I imagine that it’s one of the best feelings in the world.

Personally, there are songs that have gotten me through the toughest times. When my father passed, the one song that made me feel as if everything was going to be okay was, “Swim” by Jack’s Mannequin. I remember listening  to the song on repeat and feeling as if the song was written to get me through one of the hardest things anyone should ever have to go through.

“I swim for brighter days, despite the absence of sun.”

At that moment in my life, I didn’t know when it would get better, but when I listened to that song, I knew, one day, it would.

With all of the terrible things that go on in this world, we all need music to get us through. I feel as if music can fix things. Bring peace to the wounded.

Some of the musicians I adore, in my opinion, were put on this earth to play music. They are here to help guide people through the obstacles of life. I will always be filled with amazement at how one song can turn a bad day into a good one.

Music is a necessity. I would never want to live without it and I wouldn’t want anyone else to either. If you’re ever having the kind of day that you wouldn’t wish on your worst enemy, take a few minutes and turn on your favorite song. It will not only take your mind off of the things that have gone wrong, but it will give you the positivity you need in order to keep going.

I’m not going to give any particular names, but I would like to say thank you to the artists who have made a difference in my life. You’ve made such a difference in my life.

We all need a little push sometimes. Let the music keep you moving.

    • Gwen
    • April 5th, 2011

    beautiful. and exactly my feelings too.

  1. I think you’d like this – come to one near you

    regards
    matt
    sofarsounds

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

