Robert Kelly

"I try to write about things that are real to me, and I think if that’s true, it’ll be real to lots of people."

Nowadays, If you’re a musician, it’s easy to become buried by all of the other artists around you. You have to work hard to have your music heard and for your talent to be showcased to it’s full potential. Living in Nashville, TN, Robert Kelly is surrounded by amazing performers. Artists such as Katie Herzig, Matthew Perryman Jones, and Griffin House, all call Nashville home and that’s just to name a few of them. One would wonder how to get your foot in the door in the great music capital. With the help of close friends, Robert Kelly is being noticed as the next big thing to breakout in the music world. With his debut album, “We Are Poetry” being released in just a few days, Robert is gearing up for the ride of his life. I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know him and realizing that he’s not just another skilled musician, but he also has an endearing charm paired with honesty. His music has come just in time for the summer and the flowers won’t be the only thing blooming this season.

Q. At what age did you realize you wanted to be a musician and make this your career?

A. I didn’t go to church very often until I heard about this cool “youth group” thing when I started 7th grade. I went, and there was a band, with a couple of people singing, and I thought, “That! I want to do that!” Soon after, I decided I wanted to be just like LeAnn Rimes. Luckily, that didn’t happen. Wouldn’t it be cool if the answer to this question was way more exciting and involved a glorious vision in a dream or my life flashing before my eyes?

Q. What things in your life inspire you to write?

A. I just really want to be honest. I try to write about things that are real to me, and I think if that’s true, it’ll be real to lots of people. I’ve been in love and I’ve thought I had everything figured out, and then I’ve watched both of those things crumble to pieces. I think we all have.

Q. You’re on the brink of releasing a new album, “We Are Poetry” March 29th. What can your fans expect to hear from this album?

A. I’m so excited for everybody to hear the album. I think people will hear old and new friends making fun, pop music together. I had the pleasure of making a new friend, producer Thomas Doeve. He made Andrew Belle’s latest record, The Ladder, and it was so exciting to see his swirly, moody pop tendencies collide with my more straightforward, sunshine-y approach to my music.

Q. Who are some of the artists that inspire you to become a better musician?

A. The best part of this question is that a lot of them are friends. I’ve had the honor of being encouraged/challenged/befriended by Matt Wertz, Andrew Belle, and Steve Moakler. All three of them have been huge in getting where I am today. I am a huge fan, also, of Brett Dennen, Phoenix, and The Avett Bros. Every time I listen to their records, I have to go sit in my room and make my own.

Q. If you could choose a favorite lyric, from one of your songs or someone else’s, what would it be?

A. The first lyric that comes to mind is from Adele’s song, “Don’t You Remember.”  She says “I know I have a fickle heart, and a bitterness, and a wandering eye, and a heaviness in my head.”  It’s beautiful how she makes our humanity look so beautiful. It’s just REAL, you know?

Q. What is one thing you hope to accomplish in the next year?

A. I want to go drive around and play lots of shows in lots of places. Especially if it involves me going near the new Harry Potter place in Orlando. I bet that’s the coolest thing ever.

Q. What is the most meaningful song you’ve ever written?

A. I don’t always write directly from my life experiences, but one time I was sitting on my bed, writing, and suddenly I was thrown back into a very volatile place from my past. The song just told a story of a time I was very much in love and it ended when I didn’t want it to. I kept trying to get it back, but it was gone. The song is called “Pages” and it’s the last track from the new album. NOTE: It turns out that I’m very happy that it ended, and that sometimes, things just turn out right.

Q. There are a ton of singing competitions, one of the most popular being American Idol. Would you ever consider trying out for something like that?

A. I don’t think I’d ever do that, but you never know! It’s easy to develop a reputation really quickly when you’re on TV in front of millions of people, and what if it’s not really you? That’s scary to me.

Q. If you could co-write a song with anyone, alive or passed on, who would it be?

A. I think I would choose Frodo Baggins. He’s an adventurer, and I bet he has a lot to say, and maybe he can even rhyme! Plus, it would just be really fun to hang out with him. I may or may not be watching Fellowship of the Ring as we speak.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Whoa! Well, I traveled by myself to the Middle East last year, and I brought a little backpacker guitar with me. I’d probably try to convince whoever was forcing me to live on the island alone for the rest of time to have a heart and let me bring that instead of just one song! I really like the title track from the new record, We Are Poetry, though. It’s so happy, and I really like being happy. Plus, I bet it’s important to keep a positive attitude when stranded on an island.

Here is the title track off of his album, “We Are Poetry.”

The End.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

