The April Year

"We feel like there is a lot of opportunity because bands like Fall Out Boy and The Academy Is... came out of Chicago."

Every time I hear about a Chicago band succeeding in their music, it puts a huge smile on my face. My home is Chicago and I miss the music scene there dearly. I’m so thankful for social networking because without it, I wouldn’t have heard of The April Year. A group of four that are on the rise; members Spencer Walters, Tyler Madden, Timothy Blom, and David Tansey have all known each other for quite some time now. They all have a passionate love for music, which is easily noticeable when you hear their catchy songs. Bands like Fall Out Boy, The Plain White T’s, and The Academy Is have all been majorly successful in this business and I can only hope that stars from the great city can continue to make a name for themselves. Here are some questions I had the opportunity of asking the boys of The April Year.

Q. How did you all meet and form your band?

A. We all went to the same high school. We were in rival bands throughout high school until Spencer, Tyler and Tim formed The April Year in April 2010. We soon added our best friend David to the band at the end of summer. We have no idea why he wasn’t in the band in April. I guess we’re just douchebags.

Q. What are some of the things you hope for in the new year?

A. We would like to go on tour, write and record a new EP (maybe a full length?) and hopefully sign a record deal. We all quit college to pursue the band so hopefully it pays off.

Q. You’re from Chicago, IL. Do you feel like there is a lot of opportunity there for unsigned bands?

A. We feel like there is a lot of opportunity because bands like Fall Out Boy and The Academy Is… came out of Chicago. We’re lucky to live near a big city. I don’t think we would have the same exposure if we lived in a very rural state like Arkansas or Utah.

Q. What big stages do you dream of playing on someday?

A. Any stage is cool for us, but if we had choose it would have to be stages like Madison Square Garden, any of the House of Blues venues, and probably the Chain Reaction in Anaheim just because it looks like a good time there, haha.

Q. If you could open for any band, past or present, who would you love to share the bill with?

A. Spencer: The Beatles, Blink 182, and Ryan Adams.

Tyler: Brighten, Relient K, Say Anything.

David: Matchbox 20, Bink 182, Relient K.

Tim: Blink 182, All Time Low because they’re stupid like us, and The Dangerous Summer.

Q. Which one of your songs is your favorite to perform live?

A. Spencer: So Much For The Art Musuem because it gets jazzy at the end and it turns me on.

Tyler: But I Think You’ll Never Know because it gets epic at the end.

David: But I Think You’ll Never Know because… (silence)

Tim: So Much For The Art Musuem because it’s rocking the whole time.

Q. Who are some of your biggest musical influences?

A. Spencer: Ryan Adams for his great songwriting and twangy geetar and The Dangerous Summer for their lyrics and how I can relate to all of their songs more than anything.

Tyler: Justin Richards, Matt Thiessen, Max Bemis, Taylor Swift, and Ben Gibbard.

David: Tokyo Hotel (for sure…), bands like Linkin Park, Rob Thomas, and alternative style beats. Almost forgot about Matt Thiessen and Justin Richards. People are gonna think I hate Rob Thomas when I actually love him. Fuck.

Tim: Blink 182 got me to play bass so I give them a lot of credit.

Q. What is the ultimate direction for your band?

A. To write songs that everybody in the world will someday know. Much like The Beatles.

Q. If none of you were in the band, what else would you be doing in life?

A. Spencer: Probably be a solo artist while skipping classes in college to sleep while thinking I’m earning a degree or something like that. I don’t know.

Tyler: I’d probably be doing something else musically like singing for The Starlit Letter (a much better band than The April Year will ever be.)

David: Probably be playing guitar for The Starlit Letter and going to school to be a cop.

Tim: Going to school and playing for The Starlit Letter just like the rest of these douchebags.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why.

A. Spencer: I would probably choose a new song we recently wrote called “Within My Skin.” It’s really chill and the lyrics are personal. This one won’t be heard until sometime in 2011 though.

Tyler: Meet Me Here because I have such a fantastic guitar solo in it and I would have to listen to it daily just to remind myself how awesome I am.

David: I would just bring Tyler so he could sing them to me. Only his backups though.

Tim: Through Hell and High Hopes.

A great song from a great band. Here is “Meet Me Here.”

The End.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

