The Canvas Waiting

"You have to be willing to promote and push your music harder than anyone in this world because a career in music will not be handed to you."

Many great bands come out of Austin, TX and The Canvas Waiting is among that list. Their music has not failed to impress and they are easily becoming one of the bands to watch out for. With the perfect amount of alternative mixed with melodic pop, these guys are at the beginning of what is going to be a promising career in music. Members, Nathan Medina (singer), Josh Rodgers (drums), Colin Campbell (guitar), and Chris Applegate (bass), have just recently released their latest EP titled “Chasing Color” which has been reviewed by some as one of the best of this year. I recently talked with singer, Nathan Medina and got to know the band a bit more.

Q. How did you guys meet and form your band?

A. The band is originally from Houston and we formed about 5 years ago after graduating high school. I relocated to Austin during college and the band went through some member changes. The current lineup connected in various ways through the Austin music scene. This is definitely the strongest and most cohesive lineup the band has ever had and I think that is very apparent on our latest release, Chasing Color.

Q. What was the defining moment you realized you wanted to be a musician?

A. I picked up the guitar when I was around 14 and I haven’t put it down since. I remember going to my first concert when I was in junior high to see a band called MXPX and thinking that it was probably the coolest thing I had ever seen. Ever since then music is the only thing I have ever truly wanted to do as a career.

Q. If you could have lunch with any legendary rock star, who would it be?

A. I’m not really the type to go crazy over “rock stars”, but I would love to sit down with Bono or Ryan Adams and pick their brains. I have a lot of respect for artists that have actually made careers out of music rather than just writing a few singles that were popular. These guys have definitely done that.

Q. What is the best piece of advice you’ve received since being in a band?

A. I’m not exactly sure where this advice came from or where I read it, but knowing that “no one will care about your music as much as you do” is a golden nugget in my book. You have to be willing to promote and push your music harder than anyone in this world because a career in music will not be handed to you. It is an uphill battle the entire way and you have got to truly believe in what you’re doing, or no one else will.

Q. What have been a few of your favorite venues you have played in?

A. I  would say my two favorites venues thus far are Stubbs and The Parish in Austin. The sound and stages at these venues are top notch and they have a really great vibe that is hard to find elsewhere.

Q. Do you guys plan on touring the U.S. this fall?

A. Seeing as the fall is almost over, we wont be doing much more than Texas dates through the end of 2010. We are definitely hoping that 2011 will be the year that takes us out of Texas and across the US in some form or fashion. Keep posted.

Q. What was your experience like playing SXSW?

A. SXSW is hands down one of our favorite weeks of the year. There is an energy that swallows the city that is indefinable and invigorating. Austin becomes a cultural melting pot and the opportunities for unique exposure for your music are endless.

Q. To date, what was one of the best shows you’ve played?

A. We actually just played our Austin CD Release for Chasing Color last Saturday. I think that would definitely be in the running for one of our best shows ever. It was a great time and a huge success for us.

Q. What are some of your hopes for the upcoming year?

A. #1 goal is to get as many people as humanly possible to hear Chasing Color.  Hopefully new goals are then created because of goal #1.  Also, touring nationally is a big goal.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. I would like to take a guitar with me so I could play any of our songs and then hopefully write some new ones. If I had to choose though, I would probably have to pick “An Island Now”…..it just seems appropriate.

A special treat from the guys, listen to “Ghosts” off of their latest EP.

The End.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

