Hellogoodbye

"I don't wanna assume to be too well known all over, but we've definitely been having a good time traveling all the places we've been."

I’m pretty sure you’ve heard of this band before. They are known for their fun music, bubbly personalities on stage, and overall a talented band on the scene. From Huntington Beach, CA, hellogoodbye consists of Forrest Kline (vocals, guitar, and ukulele),  Mike Nielson (drums), Travis Head (bass), Joseph Marro (keyboard and guitar), and Andrew Richards (guitar, ukulele, and mandolin). Their sound is unlike anything else in the indie pop world which, in my opinion, is a breath of fresh air. Their newest album, which dropped on November 9, “Would It Kill You” has many people jumping on the bandwagon. For a few years now, hellogoodbye has been one of my favorite bands, so having the opportunity to interview them was a great pleasure. Singer, Forrest Kline answered some questions about his band, their future, and what’s on their band bucket list.

Q. When forming in 2001, you started the band as an entertainment outlet. Did you ever dream that you would become a well-known band all over the world?

A. Well, no. Haha. I just started it for a laugh. I don’t wanna assume to be too well known all over, but we’ve definitely been having a good time traveling all the places we’ve been.

Q. You guys have played a ton of shows, including many Warped Tours. What has been one show that sticks out in your mind?

A. I like the small ones that are sweaty and exciting. We did a couple house party shows on days off on this tour and they’ve been super awesome. I like when I can just talk to people without a microphone and we’re not on a stage so they can smell my breath.

Q. In 2009, you went on tour with Hanson for a couple of months. How does the audience on that tour differ from some of the other audiences (such as Warped Tour and SXSW)?

A. They were a pretty cool crowd, not tough or rude or anything usually. They didn’t know who our band was and didn’t care and a lot of them kinda assumed Hanson taking us out was like our first touring opportunity, haha. They’re very insular.

Q. Who is one band you dream of opening for that you have yet to play with?

A. Sondre Lerche, Tahiti 80, Dr. Dog… these are by no means bands i think should open for us… just bands I dig a lot.

Q. You appeared on MTV’s Real World: Austin back in 2005, which I’m sure is something that you can check off of the bands bucket list. What is another thing you would like to check off?

A. Haha well, that certainly was never on our bucket list. It was pretty cool though. I’d like to tour nearly every country in the world. That’s on my list. Estonia, here we come!

Q. In your opinion, what are some of the best venues to play in?

A. The small ones!

Q. Your newest record titled “Would It Kill You” is being released on November 9. Compared to your first studio album, “Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs!” are there any changes your fans can expect to hear?

A. Mmm, It’s pretty different I guess. Doesn’t feel foreign to me probably just because It’s a place I’ve arrived at over the course of the last 3 years… no surprise for me. But It’s not very clubby. Hah. Some of our last record got some play on DJ’s rigs in swanky dance clubs. Not this one. This record is the best most honest songs I’ve made I think. I was talking about the band being a laugh before, and this record is still pretty light but It’s real genuine too.

Q. What has been your fondest memory of being on tour?

A. Jumpin into lakes with Limbeck on our Westcoast tour a year or two ago, maybe. We’ve toured A LOT and I’ve got lots of fond memories… but i love when we’re on tour with some dudes we know and love. Maybe daily Panera Breads with Steel Train. Right now is really exciting because our record is coming out in 2 days, and its been so long since thats happened for us It’s quite an event and we finally feel like we’re working toward something / reached some sort of goal. Since the record has a release date, we’re not just treading water out here. I think I’ll look back on this period feeling pretty good.

Q. When playing live, what songs of yours get the most response from the crowd? What are some of the most requested songs?

A. Ones people know, haha. We’re playing a lot of new material from our record that’s not out yet and i think people are into it, but I know how it is hearing live music you’re not familiar with, even if you’re really into it you just kinda take it in.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. One of my own songs??? Yikes. Jesse Buy Nothing, that way I would be obliged to end my life swiftly. Haha.

Here’s a song called “Getting Old” off of their latest record. Put your dancing shoes on and enjoy.

The End.

  1. Ohhhhhhhh guys! ure really awesome!
    And seriously your new album is amazing, I just cant stop listening it… Great job guys!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

