Andrew Belle

"I love being the young up and coming underdog type right now."

Andrew Belle is a new singer/songwriter on the scene and so far, he has gained many fans all over the world, including me. He is beyond talented, with his soothing vocals and well written lyrics. His newest full length album, ‘The Ladder’, is flying off of shelves worldwide. I had the pleasure of interviewing him only to come to the conclusion that he is an extremely hard worker, appreciative of his success so far, and has a killer taste in music.

Q. When did you first realize that you wanted to be an artist?

A. Well, I started songwriting for the first time my sophomore year of college in the fall of 2003 after I discovered this band called ‘Brand New’ – but it wasn’t until my senior year in the fall of 2005 that I decided to try my hand at making a full length record (that will never see the light of day haha) and to pursue songwriting and performing as a career after school was over. So it was technically about 5 years ago, but I always credit those early days in my dorm room as the very first seeds of me discovering that I loved to write songs.

Q. You’re originally from Wheaton, Illinois and moved to Nashville in 2009. What do you miss back home that you wish was in Nashville?

A. Portillo’s Beef! Portillo’s is this Chicago staple restaurant for Italian beef or Chicago style hotdogs…they need to put warning labels or something on the bag because I know people (my dad being one) who are literally addicted!

Q. Who has been your favorite artist you’ve shared the stage with?

A. Probably Greg Laswell. I’ve been a huge fan of his for years now and last fall I finally got to share a bill with him in Chicago. He’s a big influence on what I do and I hope to spend more time performing with him sometime in the future.

Q. What do you hope to be doing in five years?

A. I hope to still be making songs and records that I am 100% proud of. Everything else is just details and are in God’s hands.

Q. What was your reaction when you first heard some of your songs off of your album ‘The Ladder’ were being played on hit T.V. shows like Grey’s Anatomy and One Tree Hill?

A. I was extremely excited! Programs like those have been known for years as the shows to find new, hip, up and coming music. To be featured in that way is a dream come true and truly exhilarating.

Q. You have a bunch of live shows coming up throughout the U.S. Which city are you most looking forward to playing?

A. Any where on the eastern seaboard. I am so excited that we’re hitting that area in the middle of autumn! I always love New York but I think this time around I am going to try and spend more time enjoying Boston. There’s so much to see and enjoy – and all that seafood? Come on.

Q. Out of all of the songs from ‘The Ladder’, which one are you most proud to have written?

A. Probably the title track. When it all came together I remember being so satisfied with the way I depicted exactly what I wanted to say and yet still in a creative and interesting way. Also, the song recently won ‘pop song of the year’ in the John Lennon Songwriting competition which was a humongous honor to receive.

Q. A lot of bands like to stay under the radar. Is this something that appeals to you or do you strive to be a more recognized artist?

A. Well, I love being the young up and coming underdog type right now – but I definitely would love for as many people as possible to discover and enjoy my music. That’s, after all, why I do this. Aside from the therapies of creating something beautiful about things that matter to me, I write songs for other people to enjoy and relate to.

Q. Name a few of your favorite bands and how they make a difference to you as an artist.

A. Death Cab for Cutie, The National, Radiohead. These bands are constantly influencing and pushing the envelope in terms of the progression of modern music. Honest vocals, creative melodies,  complicated yet tasteful percussion, and interesting/clever lyrics are things that are absolutely the most important elements of songwriting to me and are all things that these bands absolutely excel at, album after album.

Q. Finale question. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Oh my goodness, that would be terrible. I really don’t like to listen to my own music much further than during the recording process. If I had to pick one…maybe ‘Reach’. It’s short and the vocals are layered and blended so it wouldn’t drive me TOO crazy haha!

Here is one of his songs called ‘Static Waves’ featuring Katie Herzig from the album, ‘The Ladder’. Click the link below and enjoy.

Listen here

The End.

  1. I can definitely confirm the Portillo’s Beef addiction!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

